Double demerit points are currently in effect in New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, and Western Australia.

Double Demerit Points Now in Force in NSW, ACT, and WA

New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), and Western Australia have all put double demerit points into effect as of today. The double demerit points will remain in place until 11:59 pm on Monday, January 1 in New South Wales and the ACT and until January 7 in Western Australia.

The NSW Police Traffic and Highway Patrol Command has encouraged motorists to travel over the holiday season with safety in mind towards a better 2024. They have emphasized the importance of driving safely, especially during the busiest time of year on New South Wales roads. Officers from the Highway and Traffic Patrol Command will be working alongside local police to tackle all road offenses, including speeding, the effects of alcohol and drugs, distractions, fatigue, and other dangerous behaviors that put the safety of road users at risk.

The double demerit point penalties are not applied to all driving offenses but are specifically aimed at speeding and major breaches of road rules. In New South Wales and the ACT, this means drivers caught speeding, using a mobile phone illegally, or not wearing a seatbelt will have double the demerit points applied to their license during the holidays. For example, the penalty for a licensed driver who breaches the speed limit by 10 km/h or less increases from a single demerit point to two demerit points. Exceeding the speed limit by more than 10 km/h increases from three to six demerit points.

Double demerit points are also applied for drivers with L and P plates, making it easier to suspend a license after a single violation. In Western Australia, double demerit point penalties apply to other offenses such as drink-driving and running a red light, as well as excessive speed, failure to use seat belts, and illegal use of mobile phones.

Queensland is the only other part of Australia that applies double demerit points. However, it applies the same penalties year-round to drivers who commit two or more applicable violations within a 12-month period.

In Victoria, South Australia, and Tasmania, there are no double demerit points in place during the Christmas and festive season. For example, a driver licensed in Victoria will not be given double demerits for an offense in New South Wales.

During this holiday season, police in each state will be enforcing road rules to ensure the safety of all road users. It is important for motorists to be aware of the double demerit points and to drive safely and responsibly.


– “Motorists urged to take extra care during holidays” –

About the Author:

The Drive Team gives you trusted, expert reviews of your next new car and is home to the best new car rewards program in Australia. Read more about the Drive team –